2200 Harnish Drive
Algonquin, IL 60102
1960 – 2,014
1970 – 3,515
1980 – 5,834
1990 – 11,663
2000 – 23,276
2003 Special Census - 27885
The Village of Algonquin was settled in 1834 and incorporated in 1890, and sits in both Kane and McHenry Counties. Located approximately 47 miles northwest of the Chicago Loop, the Village has seen significant growth over the last decade. Throughout development and growth of the community, the Village aims to maintain its friendly and community-oriented atmosphere.
Pottowatomi Indians originally inhabited the Algonquin area. Algonquin has a rich history; in 1834, the first settler, Samuel Gillilan, arrived in this area from Virginia. Fellow settlers Dr. Cornish, Dr. Plumleigh, Eli Henderson, Alex Dawson, and William Jackson soon followed. Often referred to as the "Gem of the Fox River Valley," Algonquin is nestled in the foothills of the Fox River Valley. In its early years, residents of the village had difficulty finding a name. Denny's Ferry, Cornish Ferry, Cornishville, and Osceola were all considered. Finally, the town fathers met and selected the name "Algonquin" on the suggestion of Mr. Samuel Edwards from the name of a ship he once owned. The name Algonquin became official on December 23, 1847.
The town saw some new growth with the construction of the railroad in 1855, which provided another means for farmers and producers of dairy goods to transport their products to Chicago markets. On February 25, 1890, Algonquin residents voted to incorporate as a Village. Along with its commercial trade, the town also became a popular summer vacation spot for Chicago residents.
A Village Hall was erected in downtown Algonquin (2 S. Main Street) in 1906, and was constructed by Blair and Summer of Janesville, WI for $6,848. The structure, which was completed on January 31, 1907, initially housed the sprinkling wagon and fire department, the jail, council chambers, clerk's office, and a vault for records. This building served municipal officials in various capacities (including a library, school, and municipal offices) until they moved to the current Village Hall, located at 2200 Harnish Drive, in 1996. Historic Village Hall now serves as a community facility and meeting center.
The village is unique in that it does not have an actual park district, as park operations are run by the village itself. Nevertheless, the quality of parks, trails, and programs is nearly unmatched. In addition, the village's scenic waterways remain a regional draw. Some noteworthy recreational opportunities in Algonquin include:
- Downtown Algonquin, a compact downtown featuring several shops and restaurants near the Fox River, as well as features like upscale lighting, planters, and well-kept sidewalks.
- The Fox River, a major tributary in Illinois which runs north-south through the heart of the village's downtown.
- Raging Buffalo Snowboard Ski Park, a snowboarding and ski terrain park located on Route 31 just south of village's limits.
- Fox River Trail/McHenry County Prairie Path, a sub-section of the Grand Illinois Trail
- Golf Club of Illinois, a public golf course on the village's southern end.
- Terrace Hill Golf Course, a private golf course on the village's western side.
- Lifetime Fitness, a chain fitness center with a sizable location in Algonquin.
- Kelliher Park, a park on the village's far western side featuring several ballfields.
- Ted Spella Park, a large park under development on the village's west side.
- Snapper Field and Lions Pool, a recreational complex near Algonquin Middle School featuring ballfields and the municipal pool.
- Towne Park, Cornish Park, and Riverfront Park, three parks located in the village's downtown, significant for the role they play in the popular Founders Days festival and several other downtown events throughout the year
- Presidential Park, an important recreational area for the village's eastside residents, it features several ballfields and open areas, as well as a few picnic shelters.
- Algonquin Lakes, a grouping of natural and man-made lakes and adjacent recreational area in a residential neighborhood by the same name on the village's eastern side.
- Manchester Lakes, a grouping of man-made lakes, recreational areas, and complex bike path system within a neighborhood by the same-name on the village's far western side.
- Woods Creek, a scenic creek which runs south-north through the village's far western side
The Algonquin Area Public Library has a main branch located at 2600 Harnish Drive and a branch location at 115 Eastgate Drive. Both provide many services for Algonquin residents. Contact them by phone (847)458-6060/Main or (847) 658-4343/Branch or visit their web site http://www.aapld.org/. Algonquin residents who reside in the far western area of Algonquin may use the Huntley Area Public Library located at 11000 Ruth Road in Huntley.
Contact them by phone (847) 669-5386 or their web site http://www.huntleylibrary.org/. Additionally, residents who reside directly east of Haegers Bend Road may use the Barrington Area Library located at 505 North Northwest Highway in Barrington. Contact them by phone (847) 382-1300 or their web site http://www.barringtonarealibrary.org/. The majority of Algonquin residents who live south of County Line Road belong to the Dundee Township Public Library; check out their web site at http://www.dundeelibrary.info/.
OTHER USEFUL WEB LINKS
Roselle Road, Schaumburg, IL 60193
| Home | Search for Homes | Receive
MLS Updates | Bob’s Listings | Mortgage FAQs | Best
Loan Rates | Get Pre-Approved NOW! |
| Buyer FAQs | FREE Info for Buyers | Seller FAQs | FREE
Info for Sellers | Free Homeowner Info | Professional
Profile | Testimonials |